Book Reviews

All the bright places by Jennifer Niven.

“You are all the colors in one, at full brightness.”

Oh My God.

I loved this book. I loved every word of it.

If you want to have a good cry over a book, for the first time. This one’s for you. I remember gathering up my courage to buy this book because I had already spoiled myself, but I still wanted to read it. So, I bought it on 20/4/19 and finished it in five days. I’ve been a slow reader for a couple of years due to college and stuff. Forgive me.

When we first open the book we see our hero, Theodore Finch questioning himself if the present day is good enough for him to die. Wow, nice.

This is the question he asks himself every morning. Boy’s got issues, we think. A litte fast forward to a few pages and we see our main couple meet for the first time, On the ledge of the school’s bell tower. So romantic.

Theodore Finch is our precious boy, who suffers from mental issues. He gets suicidal thoughts and nothing can alter his mind.

Violet Markey is our strong girl, who is devastated by her sister’s death.

These two beautifully messed up people come together and experience a beautiful feeling, love.

If I would have been completely unaware of the ending I would have been shocked as hell. The ending is expected and unexpected at the same time.

I loved this book because it is beautifully written. The characters, the dialogues, the character development of Violet saddens you and makes you happy at the same time. Your heart aches for Finch and you just can’t help but love him. As Violet grows, Finch starts to shrink. This makes my heart, break into tiny little pieces.

The thing I didn’t like in this book was the ending. It could have been different. But at the same time I loved the book. My heart still aches after all this time. So if you are a really sensitive person. I suggest you skip this book. But if you want a more realistic read, then this one’s for you.

For me this book holds a special place in my heart. I can’t help but love it.

Jennifer Niven is an insanely talented writer. This is one of her greatest works. Her work just keeps you on the edge of your seat. You just wish for more and more.

If you’ve watched the movie before reading this book, Get ready to be amazed. Because the book is amazing and the movie didn’t do any justice to it. I’m not even exaggerating. I was so disappointed when I watched the movie. I was so excited about it. Of course, the people who worked on the movie gave it their best but the book still stays on top.

My rating: 9/10

Did you read it and liked it? How much would you rate it?

Tell me in the comments below!

Don’t forget to like and follow my blog!

Lots of love

Hijab Khan

4 thoughts on “All the bright places by Jennifer Niven.”

Leave a comment